News & Social‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

RUBC wins 2011 Tyler Cup & 2011 Mecredy Cup

posted 29 Jul 2011, 15:46 by Railway Union Bowling Club   [ updated 6 Aug 2011, 17:39 by Nigel Daly ]
The 2011 Bowling League of Ireland Championship has proved to be a great one for Railway Union Bowling Club, with RUBC teams winning both the 2011 BLI Tyler Cup (Junior Pairs) and Mecredy Cup (Junior Fours). 

So having won the Mecredy Cup in 2009, and the Tyler Cup in 2010, this year we've gone one better and won them both!

Adam & Derek Kells won the Tyler Cup on Friday evening, defeating D Richards & P O'Flaherty of CYM Bowling Club 22 shots to 16.  This means that RUBC retain the Tyler Cup, which was won by Ultan & Nigel Daly in 2010.

John Mellon, and Ultan, Vivion & Nigel Daly then won the Mecredy Cup on Saturday afternoon, defeating J O'Rourke, G O'Brien, P O'Flaherty and D Richards of CYM Bowling Club 15 shots to 13. This follows their narrow loss in the final of last year's Mecredy Cup.

Well done to all the lads on a great achievement.  This is a golden era for Railway Union Bowling Club!!!