News & Social‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

BLI 2010 Championships

posted 31 Jul 2010, 14:55 by Railway Union Bowling Club   [ updated 6 Aug 2011, 17:33 by Nigel Daly ]
RUBC win Tyler Cup, runners-up in Mecredy Cup. Railway Union's Ultan Daly & Nigel Daly have won the BLI Tyler Cup (pairs) - the first time RUBC have taken home the cup since 1943.  Railway Union's Ultan Daly, John Mellon, Vivion Daly and Nigel Daly were also runners-up in the BLI Mecredy Cup (foursomes), having been narrowly beaten after an extra end when the match ended all-square after 21 ends.

This is the second year running that RUBC have won one cup and been runners-up in another.  In 2009, Railway Union's Fiachra Tierney, Adam Kells, Wally Jackson, Tadgh Kenneally and Derek Kells won the Mecredy Cup, 19 years after RUBC last won it, while Fiachra Tierney & Derek Kells were runners-up in the Tyler Cup in another very tight match.

Click here for the full results of the 2010 BLI Championships.